When was the last time…..

You did something that mattered? Something that made a difference?

When was the last time you gave yourself goosebumps?

Right at this very moment in my life, i am at a point where the possibilities are almost infinite. I am no longer confined by area, industry or love. To say i am at a cross roads is severely limiting the amount of possibilities that i have in front of me. I would say i am sitting at a T-junction in a bulldozer. I can follow the road that has been paved previously or i can create a new road. My road. The only question i need to ask myself is “Where will my road lead.”

To answer the question, many other questions need to be answered but everything comes back to one all important question:

What matters? What REALLY matters.

We can turn left or right on the T- intersection and newer with the old, money, job satisfaction, power, possessions, etc and all the other stuff but does any of it really matter. Yes, we need money, yes job satisfaction is important, yeah power can be nice and we can have all of that. But, while getting all of that, is your life making a difference? When we are in our last days, will any of that bring any real comfort to us or anyone else? Are money, power, and possessions the prize, or are they added extras on the real prize…. MAKING A DIFFERENCE?

During this process i asked myself “When was the last time i, personally, did anything that REALLY mattered? Anything that actually made a difference?”

The last thing that i can honestly say that i did that made a difference, was the original Cycle For A Cure. We raised a shit load of money for Cancer research but more importantly, we gave people an opening of a dialogue, a chance to feel that THEY were helping, a chance to share their stories and hear stories from other people who have been there. We created a community and connected people who may never have been connected. We made a difference.

That was nearly 3 years ago.

I think to myself, if i fell ill, seriously ill, and i had a couple of days to live, could i look back on my life and think “I made an actual difference”…. And i don’t think i could. Yes, i made a difference to my friends and family, and yeah i made a difference to some clients. But thats only, and lets be generous, 30 people out of 7,000,000,000 people on this earth. Thats 0.00000043% of the worlds population. Not exactly an amazing percentage.

So this definitely isn’t a “OMG i have done nothing with my life” type blog post, I think i have achieved quite a bit and done some awesome stuff that I’m very much proud of. For me. Its ALL been for me. Jobs taken for money, for prestige, for how it sounds when i pick up guys (I’m a personal trainer, I’m in the Army, I was a bodyguard etc). But what has any of this done for anyone else? How has all that time made any difference at all to the world? How can i make MORE of a difference?

So now, my question is “HOW do i want to make a difference”. The answer is not easy. Not because i don’t know how, but because i don’t know WHICH “how” to follow, or if i even need to choose. What i do know is that 2014 is about actually making a difference, and everything that i do, from my job to my day to day attitude, and my interactions with people, is geared towards making a difference. I have some ideas about what i want to do, and how i want to do them. Some are the tiniest thing, some are on a larger scale.There’s no goal of how many people i want to make a difference to, i just want to know that i have made a difference.

An ACTUAL difference.

So here is the point of this blog: I want you to ask yourself the following questions –

What have YOU done to make a difference?

What do you continue to do, to make a difference?

If you were on your deathbed tomorrow, what have you done that DID make a difference?

How are you going to continue to make an ACTUAL difference?

Post your ideas here, or don’t. Its not important. What is important is that you do it.

Beyonce – I was here

Leave a Reply

