What will you create?

Image

You know those times where you do everything in your power to make something work, or happen, and it just doesn’t? We have all been there. God knows i have had my fair share, as I’m sure you have. It’s frustrating, it’s demotivating and it can be extremely upsetting. If i have learned one thing through all of my experiences over the last 35 years, it’s that everything will happen when its meant to happen. It’s never late, and it’s never early. It’s ALWAYS right on time.

I have spent a lot of time thinking about whether we are totally in control of what happens, or if we have no control at all, and we are just mindless lemmings on a pre determined path that we can’t change… At the moment (because, like most things, it changes with age and experience) it’s a hybrid of them both. Because honestly, both of these options on their own are a terrifying thought.

To think that we are completely on our own in life and are floating round with no real purpose or map to get where we need to be, is kinda a lot to take in. Its kinda nice to know someone, something, has our back and is ready to take over the reigns when we get lost. And lets face it, who doesn’t like a bit of a challenge every now and then??

I believe that we are in complete control of what we want. But we have no or very little control over how we get it. I think we can choose the type of life we want, and we have total uninhibited, unobstructed choice in that. From there, the “universe”, God, life, whatever you believe or don’t believe in, constructs a path to get us from where we are currently to where we want to be. This decides how much we need to be tested in order to get to where we want to be. A lot of change needed, means intense and constant testing.

Each test that we go through, will change us in a way that we need to be changed, in order to get where we want to be. If we don’t learn the lessons AND make the changes necessary, we have to resit the test. Any time limits on getting where we want are set by us. The universe (or life or God, or god. Now referred to in the blog as universe.), has no concept of time. We pass the tests and we will get there quick. We fail the tests, it slows us down. There is no coincidence. There is no book of cheats. There is no shortcuts.

2014, for me, has gone OK so far. Everything that i want to happen has happened. To others it may not be anything amazing, but to me it’s both amazing in itself, and the start of something even more amazing. I had big plans for life in general at the start of 2013, and it’s kinda obvious, with hindsight, that i was no where near being the sort of person that i had to be in order to get what it was that i wanted at the time.  2013 was testing year, and a year of tests. I’m kinda hoping that either the tests are done for now, OR i have learned to learn the lessons a shit load quicker.

The other day i had a conversation with a friend of mine about a situation that was kinda awkward. I KNEW the conversation was coming, i just didn’t know when. And for the record, i have been ridiculously lucky to have been given this long without it. Now that the conversation has been had, i know that any other time, i wouldn’t have had (or seen, as the case may be) a solution. The conversation came, exactly when i needed it, when there was a solution I would have seen, and then a few days later it became extremely obvious how it all fitted into the bigger picture. Any earlier and i would have missed it, made very different decisions, and completely missed the lessons that it held. Because of the timing, and the amount i have changed through my testing in 2013, i saw it as an absolute positive, instead of a devastating negative.

I always knew that 2014 would be all about rebuilding and restarting. It’s what i wanted AND needed. Lately, i have had to think about two different options in regards to HOW i wanted the rebuild to go. Both options involve finding my own place and a stable job and rebuilding the foundations. But one has me staying in the place i know, with (or close to) the people i love most, in a job that is just a job, and i never have to really change my routine.

The other involves me completely uprooting 250kms away (Good? Bad?), but allows me to do a job that has purpose AND i get to hang with my bestie again, and get a complete restart.

I couldn’t decide which one i wanted. I didn’t know the answer to the test. Both had pros and both had cons. As i have done before, i took a lifeline (there is no limit on these, but you have to give up ALL control each time), and i asked the universe to give me a hint as to which way I’m supposed to go. The universe spoke pretty loudly and clearly about which one was best for me. I have my own version of what i want to happen with the two choices but what will happen, will happen and ill go with it. Either way is a restart. I just need to make the right decisions, to keep on path.

So, although it feels like you are working separately, the universe is working to give you exactly what you want. You ARE the architect of your own life, but you may not have total control over the details of the actual construction of the project. Without an architect, a builder doesn’t know what he is building. Without builders, an architect just has pretty pictures. Together you can create anything.

What are you going to create?

Leave a comment